PROGRAMME: Citadel Festival for Music and Singing celebrates silver jubilee

The 25th Citadel Festival for Music and Singing will take place between 17 August and 2 September, bringing a selection of local and regional musicians to entertain audiences during Cairo’s hot summer nights at the historic venue.

This year the festival opens with Les Petits Chats band and will close with a concert by Eman El-Bahr Darwish.

The festival is an annual summer event launched in 1989 under the leadership of conductor and composer Sherif Mohie Eldin. The festival has taken place every year since, except for 2013.

Throughout its history, the festival has hosted several regional and international musicians.

The festival is under the directorship of the Cairo Opera's artistic house, and will bring local and regional music to the historic location, inviting diverse audiences to attend the open air events.

All events will take place at Mahka Theatre at the Saladin Citadel in Cairo.

PROGRAMME

Wednesday 17 August
8pm: Opening concert, Les Petits Chats band

Thursday 18 August
8pm: Malwy’s Stick, by Medhat Fawzy’s Center for Stick Dancing
10pm: Ghalia Benali

Friday 19 August
8pm: Spanish Folklore by Mona Borkhart troupe
10pm: Ahmed Gamal

Saturday 20 August
8pm: Amr Selim
10pm: Karmen Soliman

Sunday 21 August
8pm: Ali Helbawy
10pm: Ahmed Saad

Monday 22 August
8pm: Eftekasat band
10pm: Mohamed Rashad

Tuesday 23 August
8pm: Emdan El-Nour (Pillars of Light) band
10pm: Louay

Wednesday 24 August
8pm: Mohamed Mohsen
10pm: Ayamna El-Helwa band

Thursday 25 August
8pm: Riff Jazz Band
10pm: Majd El-Qasem

Friday 26 August
8pm: El-Ekhwa Abo Shaar (Aboshaar Bro) band
10pm: Medhat Saleh

Saturday 27 August
8pm: Glass Onion band
10pm: Mohamed El-Helw

Sunday 28 August
8pm: Egyptian Mawlaweya band
10pm: Nesma Mahgoub

Monday 29 August
8pm: Ahmed Rabie and Said El-Artiste
10pm: Mohamed Shaheen

Tuesday 30 August
8pm: Fathy Salama and Sodasy Sharara
10pm: Marwa Nagy

Wednesday 31 August
8pm: Boghdady band
10pm: Khaled Selim

Thursday 1 September
8pm: Nile Symphony Orchestra conducted by Mohamed Saad Basha
10pm: Ali El-Haggar

Friday 2 September
8pm: Nesma Abdelaziz
10pm: Eman El-Bahr Darwish

For more arts and culture news and updates, follow Ahram Online Arts and Culture on Twitter at @AhramOnlineArts and on Facebook at Ahram Online: Arts & Culture


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *